Restricted public sector fund
ADF Super
ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.
THE OVERVIEW
About ADF Super
CSC runs ADF Super as an accumulation fund. Defence contributions and investment returns build the account balance, with fees and costs deducted.
Who can join
Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.
THE SUPERGURU VIEW
Our take
A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.
Who might put it on their shortlist
- Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
THE NUMBERS
Fees and investment returns
Use the product, investment option and employer plan on your statement. Lifecycle members need to choose the relevant stage. APRA's investment pathways may include closed options held by existing members.
| Measure | ADF MySuper |
|---|---|
| Return basis | MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member |
| 3-year return, per year | 9.65% |
| 5-year return, per year | 6.68% |
| 7-year return, per year | 6.99% |
| 10-year return, per year | Not reported |
| APRA strategic growth allocation | 69.06% |
| Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000 | $455 a year (0.91%) |
| Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total) | $75 a year |
| 2026 performance test | Pass |
| New-member status at reporting date | Check the current product eligibility rules |
Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.
Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.
A CLOSER LOOK
Inside ADF Super
Accounts and products
Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.
ADF Super
ADF Cover
lifePLUS Protect after service
Investment choices
MySuper Balanced
The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.
Insurance
Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.
Comparing investment performance
Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.
THE LEGAL FUND
Fund size in APRA's annual reporting
Australian Defence Force Superannuation Scheme
At 30 June 2025. These are legal-fund totals, which can include several products and more than one account per person.
APRA annual fund-level statistics, June 2025. These older totals can differ substantially after mergers. Size is not a measure of suitability or investment quality.
Sources for ADF Super
Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.