First Super has a compact investment menu and offers super, transition-to-retirement and retirement income accounts. Members can get help with their investment choice without a separate advice charge.
Membership
The fund accepts new members through its public joining process. Read the relevant PDS and target market determination before opening an account.
Compare fees and investment returns
Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.
APRA product data to 30 June 2026
Measure
ADF MySuper
Balanced - accumulation
Return basis
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per year
9.65%
8.35%
5-year return, per year
6.68%
6.94%
7-year return, per year
6.99%
6.62%
10-year return, per year
Not reported
7.25%
APRA strategic growth allocation
69.06%
79.50%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000
$455 a year (0.91%)
$560 a year (1.12%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)
$75 a year
$175 a year
2026 performance test
Pass
Pass
New-member status at reporting date
Check the current product eligibility rules
Check the current product eligibility rules
Reading these two options
At $50,000, the reported annual total-cost difference is $105. ADF Super's selected reporting pathway has the lower reported cost on this measure. The figures cover the year to June 2026; current prices, insurance and separately charged advice can change the comparison.
The growth allocations are 69.06% and 79.50%. A return gap can reflect different exposure to growth assets, and similar headline allocations can still contain different investments.
A performance-test pass is a benchmark result for the tested product or pathway. It is not an endorsement or a guarantee of future performance.
Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.
Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.
How the products differ
ADF Super and First Super: product features and conditions
What to compare
ADF Super
First Super
Membership and access
Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.
Balanced is the MySuper default. The other options are Conservative Balanced, Growth, Shares Plus and Cash. Members can split their balance across options.
Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.
Compare Balanced with portfolios carrying a similar growth allocation, over the same dates. Shares Plus and Cash have different risk profiles and should not be ranked as though they pursue the same outcome.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
A Retirement Income account allows a choice of investment mix and payment frequency. Pension payments can be fortnightly, monthly, quarterly, half-yearly or yearly, subject to the required annual minimum.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
The fund says advice about its investment options is available to members at no extra cost. A wider advice request needs a separate scope and cost check.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
The current fees page gives a $50,000 Balanced example of $465.80 a year, including administration, investment and transaction costs, before any additional applicable fees. This is an example for that option and balance, not a universal member bill.
A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.
Who might put it on their shortlist
Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.
What deserves a closer look
ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
Before choosing between ADF Super and First Super
Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.
Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.