superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs Cruelty Free Super

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Cruelty Free Super

Retail fund brand

Cruelty Free Super gives animal-welfare concerns a central role in its ethical approach. It replaced its single Growth option with three choices in 2024.

Membership

Public membership is available under the current product documents.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperChoose an investment option
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberChoose an option
3-year return, per year9.65%Choose an option
5-year return, per year6.68%Choose an option
7-year return, per year6.99%Choose an option
10-year return, per yearNot reportedChoose an option
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%Choose an option
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)Choose an option
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a yearChoose an option
2026 performance testPassChoose an option
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and Cruelty Free Super: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperCruelty Free Super
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

Public membership is available under the current product documents.

Sources123
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

Cruelty Free Super accumulation.

Sources123
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

The current choices are Cruelty Free Australian Shares, Cruelty Free International Shares and Cash. Members select their own mix; these are not three diversified balanced portfolios.

Sources123
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

AIA provides insurance. The FAQ says a transfer of existing insurance generally needs to be completed within 30 days of leaving the other fund.

Sources123
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

Read option inception and change dates; the pre-2024 single-option record is not the same record as every current option.

Sources123
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

The reviewed FAQ explains retirement withdrawals but does not establish a dedicated pension product. Check the income-stream pathway before retirement.

Sources123
Advice and support

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Member services provide product support; personal advice needs a qualified adviser.

Sources123
Fee details to check

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Use the current PDS and reference guide for the chosen option, including administration, investment and insurance costs.

Sources123

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on Cruelty Free Super

Editorial assessment

A candidate for people whose animal-welfare requirements are not met by a mainstream fund's screening policy.

What deserves a closer look

  • Ethical screens apply to the share options, not the Cash option. A shares-only allocation has different risk from a diversified balanced fund.
  • Confirm insurance-transfer acceptance before closing existing cover.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and Cruelty Free Super

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full Cruelty Free Super profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for Cruelty Free Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Current product and trustee
  2. FAQs and insurance
  3. Current investment choices and screening scope