superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs Super Retirement Fund

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Super Retirement Fund

Transferred legacy fund

Super Retirement Fund members moved to National Mutual Retirement Fund on 1 July 2026. The older name still appears in statements and historical data.

Membership

This is a former fund arrangement. Continuing contributions now use the receiving fund's details and the correct product USI. Registration of the old entity does not mean members can remain in it.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperChoose an investment option
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberChoose an option
3-year return, per year9.65%Choose an option
5-year return, per year6.68%Choose an option
7-year return, per year6.99%Choose an option
10-year return, per yearNot reportedChoose an option
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%Choose an option
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)Choose an option
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a yearChoose an option
2026 performance testPassChoose an option
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and Super Retirement Fund: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperSuper Retirement Fund
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

This is a former fund arrangement. Continuing contributions now use the receiving fund's details and the correct product USI. Registration of the old entity does not mean members can remain in it.

Sources123
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

Historical Super Retirement Fund accounts. Members transferred to a dedicated section of National Mutual Retirement Fund immediately after 30 June 2026.

Personal Super and SuperSelect

PensionSelect

SuperWise and SuperLink

SuperCARE and Retirement Saver

Select Personal Super and pension policies

Whole-of-life and endowment super policies

Sources123
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

Investment choices and policy benefits were tied to the individual contract. A June 2026 option return remains historical information about that option; it does not describe all transferred accounts.

Sources123
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

Insurance held in an account at the transfer date moved with it. Members should use the current policy records when checking cover or making a claim.

Sources123
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

Keep June 2026 historical data under its original fund identity and link members to National Mutual Retirement Fund for current account context.

Do not offer Super Retirement Fund as a fund to join.

Sources123
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Existing pension payments continue through the receiving fund under their agreed schedules. The transfer itself is different from voluntarily cashing out or surrendering a policy.

Sources123

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on Super Retirement Fund

Editorial assessment

The most useful job of this page is to connect an old statement to the current account. Check the receiving fund and product identifiers first. Then assess fees, investments and policy benefits using documents for the transferred section.

Who this profile is for

  • Former Super Retirement Fund members checking where their account moved.
  • Employers and family members resolving an old fund name or rejected contribution.

What deserves a closer look

  • The old fund remained on APRA's September register after member transfer; legal registration and operating account status are different.
  • Employers need the new product USI for contributions from 1 July 2026.
  • Historical costs should not be treated as a current quote for a transferred policy.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and Super Retirement Fund

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full Super Retirement Fund profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for Super Retirement Fund

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Resolution Life transfer details and product USI mapping
  2. Trustee confirmation of the completed transfer
  3. APRA registered entity list