UniSuper offers a public Personal Account alongside its university-sector products. The Defined Benefit Division is fundamentally different from an ordinary investment account.
Membership
The Personal Account is available to people living in Australia aged over 15. Employer-linked products and the Defined Benefit Division have their own entry rules.
Compare fees and investment returns
Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.
APRA product data to 30 June 2026
Measure
ADF MySuper
MySuper Offering
Return basis
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per year
9.65%
9.80%
5-year return, per year
6.68%
6.89%
7-year return, per year
6.99%
7.41%
10-year return, per year
Not reported
8.11%
APRA strategic growth allocation
69.06%
76.73%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000
$455 a year (0.91%)
$340 a year (0.68%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)
$75 a year
$80 a year
2026 performance test
Pass
Pass
New-member status at reporting date
Check the current product eligibility rules
Check the current product eligibility rules
Reading these two options
At $50,000, the reported annual total-cost difference is $115. UniSuper's selected reporting pathway has the lower reported cost on this measure. The figures cover the year to June 2026; current prices, insurance and separately charged advice can change the comparison.
The growth allocations are 69.06% and 76.73%. A return gap can reflect different exposure to growth assets, and similar headline allocations can still contain different investments.
A performance-test pass is a benchmark result for the tested product or pathway. It is not an endorsement or a guarantee of future performance.
Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.
Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.
How the products differ
ADF Super and UniSuper: product features and conditions
What to compare
ADF Super
UniSuper
Membership and access
Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.
The Personal Account is available to people living in Australia aged over 15. Employer-linked products and the Defined Benefit Division have their own entry rules.
Balanced (MySuper) for Personal Account and eligible accumulation products; MySuper does not apply to the DBD or pension.
Accumulation members, Personal Account members and Flexi Pension members can select from UniSuper's investment options. A Defined Benefit Division account has two components: a formula-based defined benefit, whose investments the member cannot choose, and an accumulation component that can use the normal menu.
Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.
The insurance position depends on the product. Ordinary insured cover and the inbuilt benefits associated with the Defined Benefit Division should be compared separately. Check the current product PDS and your member statement before making a transfer.
Investment returns describe accumulation investments. The defined-benefit component uses a formula, rather than crediting the chosen market return to an account. A DBD-versus-accumulation decision cannot be reduced to two ten-year investment returns.
Keep UniSuper Personal Account and DBD comparisons separate.
Do not display a DBD benefit as a guaranteed investment return or infer its value from accumulation performance.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
Flexi Pension provides retirement-phase and transition-to-retirement accounts. The retirement-phase product requires an eligible condition of release and a minimum opening balance. Moving the entire UniSuper balance into a pension ends any insurance or DBD inbuilt benefits attached to the former account.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
UniSuper offers advice services covering super and retirement as well as broader financial matters. Advice fee deductions have rules, limits and consent requirements; an agreement to pay an adviser is not a universal feature that applies the same way to every product.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
Compare Personal Account with other public accumulation products, using the cost of the chosen investment option. Employer products, the DBD and retirement-phase Flexi Pension can have different fees. Do not transplant one product's fee figure onto the whole UniSuper brand.
A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.
Who might put it on their shortlist
Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.
What deserves a closer look
ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
THE SUPERGURU VIEW
Our take on UniSuper
Editorial assessment
UniSuper belongs on a public-fund shortlist, but the product distinction is essential. For an ordinary Personal Account member, compare the investment menu, cost and service in the usual way. For a DBD member, the more consequential question is what rights, benefits and future entitlements a change would affect.
Who might put it on their shortlist
People outside the university sector who want to compare UniSuper's Personal Account.
University-sector members reviewing their specific employer product.
Members who want an accumulation account and a pension option with the same provider.
What deserves a closer look
The defined-benefit component does not let you choose its underlying investments.
Changes involving the DBD can affect benefits that a public-fund comparison table cannot value.
Rolling the full account into Flexi Pension can end existing insurance and DBD inbuilt benefits.
A product's investment-return history does not predict an individual's formula-based benefit.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
Before choosing between ADF Super and UniSuper
Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.
Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.