superguru
MenuClose menu

Acclaim Super vs ADF Super

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

Acclaim Super

Retail fund brand

Acclaim offers a direct-investment super account and a separate Core product built around managed investment options.

Membership

Applications are available for current Acclaim products. AMG Personal Super is a separate legacy product closed to new members.

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureChoose an investment optionADF MySuper
Return basisChoose an optionMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per yearChoose an option9.65%
5-year return, per yearChoose an option6.68%
7-year return, per yearChoose an option6.99%
10-year return, per yearChoose an optionNot reported
APRA strategic growth allocationChoose an option69.06%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000Choose an option$455 a year (0.91%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)Choose an option$75 a year
2026 performance testChoose an optionPass
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

Acclaim Super and ADF Super: product features and conditions
What to compareAcclaim SuperADF Super
Membership and access

Applications are available for current Acclaim products. AMG Personal Super is a separate legacy product closed to new members.

Sources1234

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123
Accounts and products

Acclaim Super and Pension; Acclaim Core Super and Pension.

Sources1234

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123
Investment choices

Acclaim Super supports listed securities and term deposits, with individual share-trading arrangements. Core offers diversified and sector index managed funds.

Sources1234

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123
Insurance

Insurance applications and employer-plan guides are available. Occupation ratings and the precise product determine the relevant terms.

Sources1234

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123
Retirement income

Both product families have pension arrangements with their own disclosure.

Sources1234

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Advice and support

The service is built around adviser-managed portfolios and reporting. Establish the cost of any advice arrangement separately.

Sources1234

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Fee details to check

Use the PDS for either Acclaim or Core and read the July 2026 product and administrator updates. Direct share costs differ from Core's managed-option costs.

Sources1234

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Comparing investment performance

Core options have their own investment histories. A direct-investment Acclaim account has no single return that represents all members.

Sources1234

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on Acclaim Super

Editorial assessment

Acclaim may suit an advised member with a defined direct-investment strategy; Core is a different proposition for someone choosing managed options.

What deserves a closer look

  • AMG MySuper has been terminated. Check that any default-option information refers to a current product.
  • AMG, Acclaim, Raiz and Hejaz reporting can share the same legal fund ABN but have different terms.

Sources1234

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between Acclaim Super and ADF Super

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full Acclaim Super profile · Read the full ADF Super profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for Acclaim Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Investment choices by product
  2. Current product disclosure
  3. Significant event notices
  4. Brand and legal-fund distinction

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions