superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs NESS Super

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

NESS Super

Industry fund

NESS is a smaller industry fund with an electrical-trades focus and a relatively short investment menu.

Membership

The fund accepts applications from individuals; occupation and employment circumstances matter when checking insurance eligibility.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperMySuper
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per year9.65%9.22%
5-year return, per year6.68%6.44%
7-year return, per year6.99%6.90%
10-year return, per yearNot reported7.31%
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%78.13%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)$425 a year (0.85%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a year$135 a year
2026 performance testPassPass
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Reading these two options

At $50,000, the reported annual total-cost difference is $30. NESS Super's selected reporting pathway has the lower reported cost on this measure. The figures cover the year to June 2026; current prices, insurance and separately charged advice can change the comparison.

The growth allocations are 69.06% and 78.13%. A return gap can reflect different exposure to growth assets, and similar headline allocations can still contain different investments.

A performance-test pass is a benchmark result for the tested product or pathway. It is not an endorsement or a guarantee of future performance.

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and NESS Super: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperNESS Super
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

The fund accepts applications from individuals; occupation and employment circumstances matter when checking insurance eligibility.

Sources1234
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

Accumulation super, transition-to-retirement and account-based pension.

Sources1234
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

Seven choices are available for super and transition-to-retirement accounts. Pension members have an eighth, My Income. The menu spans MySuper/MyPension, High Growth, Stable, shares, property and cash.

Sources1234
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

Death or terminal illness, total and permanent disability, and income protection cover are available. Read the insurance guide for occupation terms, waiting periods and payment limits.

Sources1234
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

Compare MySuper with options that have a similar growth allocation. Property or shares options are components of a portfolio, so their returns are not direct substitutes for diversified-fund returns.

Sources1234
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

My Income is available within the account-based pension menu, alongside the other pension investment choices.

Sources1234
Advice and support

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Use the fund's tools and advice service to establish what support is included and when a separate advice fee applies.

Sources1234
Fee details to check

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Use the fees and costs guide effective 31 March 2026. Compare administration charges, the chosen option's investment costs and your insurance premium.

Sources1234

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on NESS Super

Editorial assessment

Worth investigating for an electrician or other tradesperson who wants to check insurance alongside investment costs.

What deserves a closer look

  • Industry relevance does not guarantee that a particular claim will qualify.
  • My Income is not available in accumulation or transition-to-retirement accounts.

Sources1234

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and NESS Super

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full NESS Super profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for NESS Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Current investment choices
  2. Insurance for electrical trades
  3. Fees and costs guide
  4. Disclosure documents