AMP Super combines SignatureSuper's age-based MySuper options with investment choice, digital advice and retirement products. Its Lifetime Boost feature needs more explanation than a simple benefits tick.
Membership
Check the SignatureSuper PDS and any employer plan's terms. Restricted employer MySuper arrangements should not be treated as the same product as the standard SignatureSuper MySuper offer.
Compare fees and investment returns
Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.
APRA product data to 30 June 2026
Measure
ADF MySuper
Choose an investment option
Return basis
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
Choose an option
3-year return, per year
9.65%
Choose an option
5-year return, per year
6.68%
Choose an option
7-year return, per year
6.99%
Choose an option
10-year return, per year
Not reported
Choose an option
APRA strategic growth allocation
69.06%
Choose an option
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000
$455 a year (0.91%)
Choose an option
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)
$75 a year
Choose an option
2026 performance test
Pass
Choose an option
New-member status at reporting date
Check the current product eligibility rules
Check the current product eligibility rules
Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.
Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.
How the products differ
ADF Super and AMP Super: product features and conditions
What to compare
ADF Super
AMP Super
Membership and access
Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.
Check the SignatureSuper PDS and any employer plan's terms. Restricted employer MySuper arrangements should not be treated as the same product as the standard SignatureSuper MySuper offer.
AMP's MySuper strategy allocates members by date of birth and gradually changes the growth and defensive mix. SignatureSuper also offers investment choice, including index-style, multi-manager and single-manager approaches, subject to the current menu.
Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.
Use the insurance guide for your SignatureSuper membership or employer plan. Insurance fees depend on the cover held; the presence of an AMP account does not establish the level of cover or that an application would be accepted.
MySuper Lifestage returns belong to birth cohorts and their changing investment mix. Compare the same cohort or age and common end date. An option's short-term return is not evidence that every SignatureSuper member received the same result.
Keep AMP Super and MyNorth separate.
Explain the MySuper-to-Choice change and conditional nature of Lifetime Boost before presenting it as a benefit.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
AMP offers a flexible allocated-pension product and a separate Lifetime Retirement Income product. Lifetime Boost in accumulation only produces its intended retirement benefit if the member later takes the AMP lifetime-income product. It is not an immediate cash bonus paid into the account.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
Eligible AMP Super members can access Digital Financial Advice through My AMP at no extra fee. It has an eligibility and service scope; more complex planning should be compared separately from the digital service.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
Identify the product, selected option and employer arrangement before comparing charges. Costs can include administration, investment and transaction costs, insurance and personal advice. North's menu-based fees should not be substituted for SignatureSuper's charges.
A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.
Who might put it on their shortlist
Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.
What deserves a closer look
ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
THE SUPERGURU VIEW
Our take on AMP Super
Editorial assessment
AMP has a more involved retirement proposition than a simple accumulation account. That may interest someone planning how super and the Age Pension could work together, but the value rests on the conditions and the eventual retirement product. The Lifetime label needs careful reading before it becomes a reason to choose the fund.
Who might put it on their shortlist
People who want an age-based super strategy and access to digital advice.
Members examining their employer's SignatureSuper terms.
People willing to investigate a lifetime-income product as part of retirement planning.
What deserves a closer look
Activating Lifetime Boost permanently changes the account from MySuper to Choice. AMP notes that MySuper has additional legal protections, even though activation itself does not change current fees, insurance or investments.
Lifetime Boost's benefit is only realised if the member takes the relevant AMP Lifetime Retirement Income product.
Eligibility excludes certain ages and account circumstances, including defined-benefit and TTR arrangements.
Compare the lifetime-income product's access, payment and beneficiary rules with an ordinary allocated pension.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
Before choosing between ADF Super and AMP Super
Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.
Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.