superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs Superhero Super

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Superhero Super

Retail fund brand

Superhero Super offers managed investments, thematic choices and direct shares and ETFs within super.

Membership

Public membership under the applicable MySuper or Choice documents.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperSuperhero Super MySuper
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per year9.65%9.95%
5-year return, per year6.68%5.96%
7-year return, per year6.99%6.67%
10-year return, per yearNot reported6.79%
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%80.50%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)$350 a year (0.70%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a year$195 a year
2026 performance testPassPass
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Reading these two options

At $50,000, the reported annual total-cost difference is $105. Superhero Super's selected reporting pathway has the lower reported cost on this measure. The figures cover the year to June 2026; current prices, insurance and separately charged advice can change the comparison.

The growth allocations are 69.06% and 80.50%. A return gap can reflect different exposure to growth assets, and similar headline allocations can still contain different investments.

A performance-test pass is a benchmark result for the tested product or pathway. It is not an endorsement or a guarantee of future performance.

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and Superhero Super: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperSuperhero Super
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

Public membership under the applicable MySuper or Choice documents.

Sources1234
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

Superhero Super Choice and MySuper.

Sources1234
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

Diversified, single-sector, thematic and direct options. At least 25% of a Choice balance must remain across diversified or single-sector options.

Sources1234
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

MySuper and Choice insurance terms differ. There is no insurance in the retirement division; retaining accumulation cover requires a sufficiently funded super account.

Sources1234
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

The website's investment returns exclude administration fees and costs. Direct portfolios have member-specific returns.

Sources1234
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Retirement and transition-to-retirement accounts are available, with a $20,000 minimum under the PDS dated 2 June 2026.

Sources1234
Advice and support

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

The service supports self-directed investment decisions. Personal advice should be arranged where needed.

Sources1234
Fee details to check

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Choice administration is $52 a year plus a balance-based fee; investment fees vary and direct investing adds costs. MySuper has its own schedule.

Sources1234

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on Superhero Super

Editorial assessment

Relevant for an investor who wants more control but accepts the portfolio limits and costs.

What deserves a closer look

  • The required 25% managed or single-sector allocation limits a wholly direct portfolio.
  • A newly registered legal fund is not evidence that the current consumer product has already transferred.

Sources1234

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and Superhero Super

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full Superhero Super profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for Superhero Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Investment options and return basis
  2. Product and fees
  3. Current additional information guide
  4. Retirement and transition-to-retirement PDS, 2 June 2026