superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs Rest

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Rest

Industry fund

Rest pairs its Growth default with indexed and other investment choices. Its published indexed investment costs make it useful to compare total account charges carefully.

Membership

Check the Rest Super or Rest Corporate PDS for the relevant membership and insurance terms. This profile covers the public Rest Super proposition rather than every employer arrangement.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperMySuper
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per year9.65%9.17%
5-year return, per year6.68%6.66%
7-year return, per year6.99%6.91%
10-year return, per yearNot reported7.35%
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%76.24%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)$405 a year (0.81%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a year$130 a year
2026 performance testPassPass
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Reading these two options

At $50,000, the reported annual total-cost difference is $50. Rest's selected reporting pathway has the lower reported cost on this measure. The figures cover the year to June 2026; current prices, insurance and separately charged advice can change the comparison.

The growth allocations are 69.06% and 76.24%. A return gap can reflect different exposure to growth assets, and similar headline allocations can still contain different investments.

A performance-test pass is a benchmark result for the tested product or pathway. It is not an endorsement or a guarantee of future performance.

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and Rest: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperRest
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

Check the Rest Super or Rest Corporate PDS for the relevant membership and insurance terms. This profile covers the public Rest Super proposition rather than every employer arrangement.

Sources5
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

Rest Super, Rest Corporate and Rest Pension have separate disclosure documents.

Rest Super

Rest Corporate

Rest Pension

Sources45
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

Growth

Growth is Rest's default option. The choice menu includes Growth - Indexed, Australian and overseas share index options, and Sustainable Growth. An indexed option's investment fee does not include every charge incurred by the account.

Sources12
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

Rest publishes separate insurance guides for Super and Corporate accounts. Check the active cover shown in your account, its benefit definitions and current premiums; insurance changes and employer arrangements can affect what you receive.

Sources3
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

Use returns for the exact option and account type, with a common end date and a clear statement of fees deducted. Growth, Growth - Indexed and Sustainable Growth are distinct strategies and should not share a single performance figure.

Keep Growth and Growth - Indexed separate in all fee and return tables.

State whether the comparison includes costs paid from reserves and buy spreads.

Sources123456
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Rest Pension has a separate PDS and investment information. Use its retirement product details when comparing payments, investment choice and charges rather than assuming a Rest Super comparison also covers retirement.

Sources4
Advice and support

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Simple personal advice about a Rest account is generally available at no extra cost. More complex advice can incur a fee and Rest states that this may not be payable from the Rest account.

Sources3
Fee details to check

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Rest's fees combine a weekly administration charge, a percentage administration charge, costs paid from reserves, investment costs and transaction costs. Buy spreads can apply when money enters an option. The current fee page says investment and transaction costs are forecast to increase for the year ending June 2027, so the displayed prior-year cost is not a guaranteed future quote.

Sources34

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on Rest

Editorial assessment

Rest is worth looking at when building a shortlist of simple indexed portfolios. The useful comparison is the whole annual cost at your balance, including administration and any spread on contributions. A zero investment-fee line can be accurate while the account still has other charges.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • People comparing indexed investment options within a large fund.
  • Members who want help with relatively straightforward questions about their super.
  • Existing Rest members checking whether the current investment option still suits their intended risk level.

What deserves a closer look

  • Rest's reserve-funded administration costs should be disclosed even though they do not appear as a direct deduction from the account.
  • Forecast FY2027 investment and transaction cost increases make the cost period important.
  • ASIC issued two infringement notices totalling $37,560 for alleged misleading representations after insurance was inadvertently activated for more than 2,000 members. Rest paid them in September 2025. Payment of an infringement notice is not a court finding of liability.

Sources36

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and Rest

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full Rest profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for Rest

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Selecting Rest investment options
  2. Rest investment options
  3. Rest fees and costs
  4. Investment costs and applicable products
  5. Rest Super PDS
  6. ASIC: Rest insurance infringement notices