BUSSQ focuses on the building and construction industries. Its insurance is designed to accommodate high-risk jobs, including eligible casuals and contractors.
Membership
The fund also provides cover for white-collar workers. Check the product's joining rules and the insurance eligibility rules for the job you actually do.
Compare fees and investment returns
Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.
APRA product data to 30 June 2026
Measure
ADF MySuper
MySuper
Return basis
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
MySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative member
3-year return, per year
9.65%
7.41%
5-year return, per year
6.68%
5.02%
7-year return, per year
6.99%
6.24%
10-year return, per year
Not reported
6.66%
APRA strategic growth allocation
69.06%
69.77%
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000
$455 a year (0.91%)
$470 a year (0.94%)
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)
$75 a year
$95 a year
2026 performance test
Pass
Fail
New-member status at reporting date
Check the current product eligibility rules
Check the current product eligibility rules
Reading these two options
At $50,000, the reported annual total-cost difference is $15. ADF Super's selected reporting pathway has the lower reported cost on this measure. The figures cover the year to June 2026; current prices, insurance and separately charged advice can change the comparison.
The growth allocations are 69.06% and 69.77%. A return gap can reflect different exposure to growth assets, and similar headline allocations can still contain different investments.
A performance-test pass is a benchmark result for the tested product or pathway. It is not an endorsement or a guarantee of future performance.
Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.
Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.
How the products differ
ADF Super and BUSSQ: product features and conditions
What to compare
ADF Super
BUSSQ
Membership and access
Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.
The fund also provides cover for white-collar workers. Check the product's joining rules and the insurance eligibility rules for the job you actually do.
The fund offers a diversified Balanced Growth portfolio and other investment choices under its Foundation + Flex approach. The menu changed in 2026, including a new Bonds option.
Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.
Death, TPD and income protection cover are available. BUSSQ says casuals and contractors can access its insurance options when they meet minimum-hours conditions.
BUSSQ's published long-run headline uses Balanced Growth and includes specified administration deductions. Match those deductions before comparing it with another fund's investment-only return.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
Income accounts and transition-to-retirement arrangements have separate investment and fee information. Existing term allocated pensions should be compared under their own rules.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
Personal advice about BUSSQ insurance, investment choice, contributions and retirement is included in administration fees. The scope is limited to BUSSQ products.
This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.
The current page lists a balance-based administration fee, capped annually, plus investment and transaction costs that depend on the option. Include any insurance charge separately.
A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.
Who might put it on their shortlist
Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.
What deserves a closer look
ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.
Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.
Before choosing between ADF Super and BUSSQ
Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.
Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.