superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs ING Living Super

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

ING Living Super

Retail fund brand

Living Super combines diversified investment options with a facility for listed investments, and lets ING customers see super alongside their banking.

Membership

Online applications are available to Australian residents aged 13 or over, subject to the product's terms.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperChoose an investment option
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberChoose an option
3-year return, per year9.65%Choose an option
5-year return, per year6.68%Choose an option
7-year return, per year6.99%Choose an option
10-year return, per yearNot reportedChoose an option
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%Choose an option
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)Choose an option
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a yearChoose an option
2026 performance testPassChoose an option
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and ING Living Super: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperING Living Super
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

Online applications are available to Australian residents aged 13 or over, subject to the product's terms.

Sources123
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

Living Super accumulation and retirement accounts.

Sources123
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

Five diversified managed options span conservative to high-growth allocations. Listed investment access includes approved ETFs, shares and listed investment companies.

Sources123
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

Check the Product Guide for cover availability, commencement and premiums; bank insurance products are separate from super insurance.

Sources123
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

Option names do not establish equivalent risk. Living Super Growth's current published allocation is 75% growth assets, so compare its actual mix rather than the label alone.

Sources123
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Pension arrangements are available under the Living Super disclosure.

Sources123
Advice and support

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Members can apply directly or speak with a financial adviser. Online access is an administration feature, not personal investment advice.

Sources123
Fee details to check

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Use the PDS and Product Guide for the chosen managed option or direct-investment arrangement. Brokerage, insurance and transaction costs need separate attention.

Sources123

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ING Living Super

Editorial assessment

Worth comparing for someone who wants ING account visibility or listed investments without administering an SMSF.

What deserves a closer look

  • A direct-investment portfolio can be much more concentrated than a managed option.
  • The fund's fee comparisons use a $50,000 example and exclude insurance and buy/sell spreads.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and ING Living Super

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full ING Living Super profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for ING Living Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. Living Super features and investment choices
  2. Living Super eligibility and documents
  3. Product guide