superguru
MenuClose menu

ADF Super vs GuildSuper

Compare what each fund offers, then choose investment options to put their published costs and returns side by side.

By SuperGuru Group · Research checked 11 September 2026 · Historical APRA figures to 30 June 2026

ADF Super

Restricted public sector fund

ADF Super holds retirement savings for eligible current and former Australian Defence Force members.

Membership

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

GuildSuper

Retail fund brand

GuildSuper is retaining its brand while transferring into Smart Future Trust. The transition is still underway on the research date, so current notices matter more than an old fee table.

Membership

Use the current GuildSuper joining documents and the transfer notice. The brand remains available, although some member transactions are temporarily limited during the transition.

Compare fees and investment returns

Choose the actual investment pathway for each account. For lifecycle products, select the named stage relevant to you. No stage is selected automatically.

APRA product data to 30 June 2026
MeasureADF MySuperChoose an investment option
Return basisMySuper net return after administration costs, $50,000 representative memberChoose an option
3-year return, per year9.65%Choose an option
5-year return, per year6.68%Choose an option
7-year return, per year6.99%Choose an option
10-year return, per yearNot reportedChoose an option
APRA strategic growth allocation69.06%Choose an option
Reported total fees, net of tax, at $50,000$455 a year (0.91%)Choose an option
Administration and advice costs, net of tax (included in total)$75 a yearChoose an option
2026 performance testPassChoose an option
New-member status at reporting dateCheck the current product eligibility rulesCheck the current product eligibility rules

Source: APRA Comprehensive Product Performance Package 2026, published 28 August 2026. Fees reflect the reporting year to 30 June 2026, are net of tax, use standard arrangements and exclude member-activity fees. Dollar figures are rounded. They are not a current quote. Check the latest PDS for changes, insurance premiums and any separately charged advice.

Returns are annualised historical results. Different return bases, risk levels and periods cannot be treated as interchangeable. MySuper net returns use a $50,000 representative balance even when you change the fee balance. A lifecycle stage return does not track a person moving between stages. Missing figures mean not reported, not zero. Past returns do not predict future returns. Read our method and APRA's definitions.

How the products differ

ADF Super and GuildSuper: product features and conditions
What to compareADF SuperGuildSuper
Membership and access

Entry is tied to ADF service. Members who meet the continuous-service rules can keep contributing after leaving Defence.

Sources123

Use the current GuildSuper joining documents and the transfer notice. The brand remains available, although some member transactions are temporarily limited during the transition.

Sources12
Accounts and products

Accumulation super for eligible Defence personnel; ADF Cover is a separate death and invalidity arrangement.

ADF Super

ADF Cover

lifePLUS Protect after service

Sources123

GuildSuper accumulation and pension products.

Sources12
Investment choices

MySuper Balanced

The four options are MySuper Balanced, Cash, Income Focused and Aggressive.

Sources123

The transfer introduces a refreshed investment menu and maps existing balances to comparable new options. Check the mapping for the precise option instead of assuming its old name and asset mix persist.

Sources12
Insurance

Eligible serving personnel receive ADF Cover death and invalidity benefits at no extra cost. Eligible former members may obtain lifePLUS Protect, including automatic death and TPD cover or cover applied for separately.

Sources123

The transfer notice says insurance cover and policy terms remain the same, but the insurance administration fee increases.

Sources12
Comparing investment performance

Compare the selected investment option separately from ADF Cover and any civilian insurance premiums.

Sources123

Any future comparison spanning the transfer needs the option mapping and strategy-history note. Do not splice two different strategies without explanation.

Sources12
Retirement income

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Pension members remain in GuildSuper. The notice adjusts some September payment dates and temporarily limits member-initiated withdrawals and switches.

Sources12
Advice and support

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

Use the current contact and advice information in the product disclosure. Confirm the service and price before commissioning personal advice.

Sources12
Fee details to check

This detail has not been verified for this profile. Check the current product documents.

New fund details apply to contributions from 5 September 2026. Compare the fee schedule applying after the transfer, including the higher insurance administration fee. The notice says most members are expected to pay lower overall fees, not all members.

Sources12

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on ADF Super

Editorial assessment

A useful comparison for Defence members starts with service status. The retirement account, serving-member cover and insurance after discharge have different rules. Treating them as one ordinary retail insurance package can obscure what changes when you leave.

Who might put it on their shortlist

  • Eligible serving members and former members reviewing their savings and cover after discharge.

What deserves a closer look

  • ADF Super does not provide the same defined benefit as MilitarySuper or DFRDB.
  • Confirm continued membership and insurance eligibility before a change of employment or fund.

Sources123

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

THE SUPERGURU VIEW

Our take on GuildSuper

Editorial assessment

Most immediately useful for existing GuildSuper members checking where their account is going and how their particular fees change.

What deserves a closer look

  • The scheduled account transfer is 12 September 2026, with services expected to resume on 14 September; it is not complete on 11 September.
  • Some member transactions are unavailable from 4 to 14 September. The new contribution identifiers started earlier than the account transfer.

Sources12

Based on the cited product features. These are general reasons to investigate the fund, not a personal recommendation. Supporting sources.

Before choosing between ADF Super and GuildSuper

Use the membership rules to establish which accounts are available to you. Then compare the total price of the investment option and cover you need. A lower fee or higher historical return alone does not tell you which fund is suitable.

Ask both funds to confirm insurance acceptance, exclusions, waiting periods and whether cover would change when you leave your employer. Obtain advice before giving up a defined benefit or an insurance policy you may not be able to replace. ASIC Moneysmart explains the comparison checks.

Read the full ADF Super profile · Read the full GuildSuper profile · Choose another comparison

Sources for ADF Super

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. CSC ADF Super
  2. CSC service and contribution eligibility
  3. ADF Consumer Centre scheme distinctions

Sources for GuildSuper

Checked 2026-09-11. Documents and product terms can change after this date.

  1. September 2026 transfer details
  2. Future Group partnership